The right half from 1945 to 1974 was “Doc” Carneal's Del Ray Drug Store with a prescription counter, a soda fountain with counter and chairs, a few booths that the older men of the neighborhood favored in the mornings to shoot the breeze, and racks for magazines and sundries.
Through the 1950s the small building at the rear of the lot, 2006 Mt Vernon, had served simply as a storage building. In 1953, however, it was taken over as an office for Stalwart Realty. That lasted only a year or two, but then Nicholas Colasanto, local lawyer, moved his office in there and he remained there until 1967 and even after that as a storage space for his practice and others until 1975. The colorful Nick Colosanto, a unique Italian-American good-ole-boy from Connecticut, was city manager in 1947-49 and served on the city council 1970-79, being widely regarded as Del Ray's unique voice on the council. His obit in the Post tries to do him justice, and actually comes close. The building at the rear may have been small but in its time it was a lexus of wheeling and dealing in Alexandria. It passed through a number of commercial uses until the Neighborhood Restaurant Group incorporated it into the Evening Star restaurant as an auxiliary facility.
The larger building on the north side of the lot served as the base for Critics Publishing, a printing house from about 1931 into the early 1940s. After housing a number of shops and offices it was taken over the Planterium And Comic Book Store in 1977, which remained active until early 2018, a much longer reign than anyone would have expected.
During the era of the wooden single-use store, up to 1938, there was a gasoline pump alongside the building, not uncommon for grocery and dry-goods stores of the time. When the new larger building went up the tanks and pumps were apparently relocated to near the sidewalk in the courtyard, presumably allowing cars to pull in alongside. Unable to compete with the oil company associated stations, these had gone by 1948.
Jacob Glassman passed away in 1942, leaving son David to run the property. David, in turn, died in July 1972, having been in poor health for some time. His widow Margaret sold the property three years later, ending sixty years of the Glassmans at the corner.